The Troop Issues Never Cease

There are times where I swear the leadership in my unit are trying to find any way possible to irritate me.  For example, I got a call from one of the troops I supervise yesterday.  Apparently, the squadron is trying to send him on a deployment to replace someone.  He has never been on a deployment, so he is a prime target.  One problem.  My troop has medical issues.  He had surgery on his kidneys earlier this year.  He has been trying to get back and see the doctor and update his medical profile.  However, the squadron has been sending him on multiple TDYs over the past couple of months, so he has not been able to get over there.  The profile that expired in August listed him as non-deployable.  There is also his wife's medical issues to consider, as well.  I believe my supervisor may have taken care of it, for now.  I am just wondering who else they are going to try to send.

I was signing back into my unit yesterday afternoon.  I still need to do the travel voucher.  I am waiting for the rental car receipt.  I cannot do the travel voucher without this receipt.  Hopefully, they will have it by the time I wander in there later this morning.

I am kind of caught in the middle of something.  I have three troops graduating from what is called the First Term Airman Center (FTAC).  It is a two week long series of briefings designed to welcome brand new troops to the Air Force and give them some information they may need down the road.  It is designed to make them feel more comfortable with the base and with the different organizations that are here to help them.  I have not met two of these troops.  The third was on flight briefly before he went to FTAC.  My leadership sent out an e-mail indicating they wanted supervisors to make this graduation a priority.  However, I am working a twelve hour mid shift tonight.  I am already going to be up part of the morning because of my travel voucher.  I cannot afford to go to work with very little sleep.  I hate these situations.

My boyfriend, Rob, is hosting a LAN party at his commander's house this weekend.  I went over to his apartment last night and took a look at the trophy and the medals he had made for the event.  He enjoyed himself thoroughly when he made those.  I wish I did not have to work.  I would love to see the expressions on the faces of the winners when they took a look at their awards.

And I just realized I forgot to tell the apartment manager that my washing machine is broken.  It will fill up with water and start the cycle, but every time it gets to the point where it is supposed to drain all the water out, it stops.  I had to rinse my clothes by hand the night I got back from Florida.  I got most of the water out of the washer.  I am hoping the rest will evaporate.  Otherwise, there will be a not so pleasant odor in there.  The interesting thing is the fact that the dryer, which is attached to the washer, works just fine.  Not sure how that works.  Oh well.  The washer will have to wait until Monday.  I do not need them banging on my door, then removing or repairing the washer while I am trying to sleep before work.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

