Exercise, exercise

My supervisor, who is also the flight chief for my element, has started to pull some interesting exercises.  For example, two nights ago, he ran around inside and outside one of our hangars, causing all sorts of mischief in the process as no less than seven of us tried to find him, with little success.  Last night, he allowed himself to be taken hostage by his partner, and I had fun trying to convince the partner to let him go.  I succeeded in that exercise.  There are times where I win, and there are times when I lose.  Both can be quite amusing, and extremely frustrating at the same time.  That seems to be true with a lot of things in the military.

Evidently, our base commander is getting frustrated with people using their cell phones on base while driving.  For the next two weeks, anyone that comes through the gate gets to listen to the gate guards read a statement about how only hands free devices are authorized to be used while driving on base, and failure to comply could result in the driver receiving a ticket for talking on a cell phone while operating a motor vehicle.  I found this out when I got off work this morning.  I promptly sent a text message to Rob.  I had forgotten that he has the day off.  He must have forgotten to turn his alarm off, because he called me a few minutes later.  I wonder if the base commander realizes how bad traffic is going to be if the gate guards are having to read this statement to everyone.

Today, I will spend part of the morning on base.  I need to fill out my travel voucher.  I had not even thought of the possibility that I might be able to get my rental car receipt online until someone mentioned they usually got their receipts online.  Of course, by the time I heard this little tidbit, the Finance office was already closed for the weekend.  I think they should have someone in there 24/7, but that decision goes above my pay grade.  I also need to get a new pair of handcuffs.  Mine magically disappeared last night.  I suspect they fell off my gear while I was running around the hangar, trying to find my supervisor two nights ago.  I should probably use this opportunity to get new radio and handcuff pouches for the web belt I wear when I am carrying my rifle.  I just hope I will not have to write a statement.  We shall see.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

