Thoughts (Part Two)

I wonder if I am the only one having issues with CNN.com the last few days.

I was reading the news earlier and was somehow entertained by two stories coming from Chicago.  I do not know why they struck me as funny.  I think it may be the fact that the stories both came out today.

The first story I read was about Chicago's Police Department being under fire for not investigating claims of police brutality effectively.  To cite the example given by CNN.com, between 2002 and 2004 there were 10,000 complaints filed against the Chicago Police Department.  Many of those claims involved alleged police brutality and assault.  Only 18 resulted in disciplinary action.

Now, I am a cop for the United States Air Force.  I know some people try to tell stories in hopes of getting out of trouble.  But 10,000 claims in two years? With only 18 resulting in disciplinary action? Wow, which is a great understatement.  I cannot imagine how they could not have seen that as a problem.  Just reading those four lines in the article was enough to raise my eyebrows in both surprise and disgust.

The second story involved three alleged mobsters being convicted in Chicago of various murder charges.  I find the mob to be a rather interest subject to read about for some reason.  Hence, I have followed several stories involving alleged mobsters over the last couple of years.  It was while reading this article that I started laughing about the fact this story and the story about police brutality made headlines on the same day.  Is my sense of humor warped?

Another duo of stories that have caught my eye involve car crashes where the victims have not been found right away, despite family and/or friends pleading for the police to do more to find them.

The first story involved a car accident where two survivors managed to get help and pleaded for rescue crews to help the two friends still in the wrecked car.  Their pleas were not heeded and, several hours later, the father of one of the victims found his son dead at the accident scene.

I do not understand how the rescue crews could just ignore pleas from the victims friends like that.  They were told many times that there were two other people hurt in the accident.  Yet no one went down to the wreckage and looked. Why? What if the two young people that died could have survived if they were found quicker?

The second story is from just south of my hometown.  A woman disappeared after work.  Her husband called police and said she was missing after she failed to return home.  Eight days went by before the woman's car was found wrecked.  The woman was air lifted to the hospital, where she is critical condition.  She is lucky to have survived that long.  Her husband is very unhappy.  Part of the problem was the fact he was a suspect in her disappearance after it was confirmed by video surveillance that she had left work, which I feel is understandable.  Eight days before they think of trying to find her cell phone signal, though? That was what led to her being found.

It is frustrating when these types of stories come out.  I look from both sides, or I try to.  Maybe that is why I get irritated when I see these.  I think law enforcement could do better, because I am sure I would have thought to do something, or look somewhere.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

