Phone Calls and Car Loans

I got a call yesterday afternoon by someone in my unit's offices.  I am not entirely sure what his job is, but he was asking what the status was on a performance feedback that is overdue on one of my troops.  I told that I have been trying to get a hold of said troop since he went on leave, but have been unable to, except for when he called me, but that conversation was about something a bit more serious than a piece of paper, thus I forgot to mention it.  I have left messages, with no word from him on whether he got them.  I think the Orderly Room will take a bit of heat for that, since I told the guy that called me I did not find out it was due until I was TDY in Florida last month.  By the time I got back, my troop had already left.  I have not gotten any more calls, but that does not necessarily mean anything.  They may be waiting for more word from me.

My supervisor pulled an obnoxious round of exercises early this morning.  He had five troops to use as perpetrators (or perps), too.  I did not really mind the first two rounds.  I actually tracked them down before they kicked off the third round.  I did not say anything, though.  I figured my supervisor would be rather annoyed with me if I had.  I did give the desk sergeants a courtesy call, though.  We have a building on base the fire department, among other units, likes to use for exercises.  It is an empty two or three story building.  There are no lights in there as far as I know, which makes it a pain in the ass to go through at night, which is exactly what I did, along with three other troops.  We were looking for three of the perps.  We found them on the second floor.  Afterwards, my supervisor commented that he had turned away for one moment and turned back and we had already gone into the building without him knowing it.  One of the perps commented he had seen me and one of my partners (or alphas/members; that is what we call the junior member of the posts/patrols) run behind a small box like thing near the building, but never saw us actually run to the building itself.  That was my intent.  I parked in an area with too much light.  I could not really avoid it, but I did not want a bigger risk of getting "killed" while approaching the building, so I moved to a place with less light.  It worked better than I thought it would.

After work, my supervisor walked up to me and asked if he could use my name as a reference for a car loan.  I was surprised.  I have not heard of anyone needing references for a car loan before.  I agreed, though.  I wonder if he gave them my home phone, or my cell phone.  I will probably check my home phone a bit more often, though.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

