ERs and Medication

Khandi had to go to the Emergency Room today.  She has been sick for the past few days.  I remember her talking about not feeling well when I spent some time with her Thursday.  She suspected she may have ingested silver nitrate during one of her chemistry lab assignments at school.  The symptoms seemed to fit.  She has not gotten better, though.  I suspect a rather nasty stomach bug, though I was concerned when she told me earlier that she had thrown up black stuff.  Rob and I were talking about it briefly and he thinks it was blood.  There was also a couple other symptoms that I will not mention here.

I got a call a little after six this evening.  I was considering whether I should get up when the phone started vibrating.  It was Rob.  He asked me if I had the night off, then asked if I would be willing to get him some food.  I went to Arby's and met him in the Emergency Room.  Khandi and Rob were in a small hospital room.  I could tell almost immediately that Khandi had been given some sort of medication for the pain she was in.  It caused her to become drowsy and she ended up dozing off a couple of times while we waited for test results to come back.  Nothing.  She was given a prescription for the pain and nausea.  We went to Walgreen's to pick up the medication, then to Walmart to get some soups and stuff for her.  Rob and I stayed with her at the apartment for a while before leaving so she could get some rest.  I told her as I left that I have tomorrow off if she needs anything.

I do not like going to the hospital.  It always gives me the creeps for some reason.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

