Thoughts (Part Four)

There was another school shooting.  What surprises me most is the fact several students said he had been making threats, yet no one seemed to take them seriously.  They thought the boy was joking. How? After so many shootings, how could they risk thinking it was a joke? It boggles my mind, especially with details in the news of the numerous confrontations the boy had.  The only upside to this shooting, if there is such a thing, is that no one this boy shot was killed.

Another story that has been making the news a lot recently is the Jena 6 incident.  One of the teens involved was ordered back to jail for violating probation.  He had recently been released on bond after the court threw out his conviction on battery charges in adult court, and sent the case to juvenile court.  They said the case should never have been tried in adult court since the boy was sixteen at the time of the incident.  He was already on probation for four previous juvenile offenses.  Two of those offenses were simple battery charges.  What do I think? He violated probation.  In my opinion, he is showing increasingly violent behavior.  Was it motivated by racial tensions over the recent hanging of nooses at his school? Possibly.  Does it give him an excuse to act out? No.  He deserves the jail time.  Reverend Al Sharpton has denounced the decision and called for the state governor to intervene.  I hope they do not.  Should more have been done about the noose hangings? Maybe.  The school did what they thought was right.  I will not question their decision, for I do not know what all they considered when making said decision.

There are other stories making the news right now.  I am not sure yet what to think about a couple of them.  For example, eight former juvenile boot camp employees were acquitted of manslaughter in the death of a 14-year-old who died after a confrontation with them.  More to come once my thoughts are in order.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

