Cats (Part One)

I have three cats.  They are Colby, Cheddar, and Chantico.

Colby is a orange cat with white on his chest, tummy, and paws.  Cheddar is all orange.  Colby and Cheddar are litter mates, thus I dubbed them 'The Cheese Brothers' shortly after I adopted them from the nearby animal shelter.  I decided to keep the names the shelter had already given them.

The shelter preferred that more than one pet was adopted, so they offered a pretty good price for the two litter mates.  I was looking for two cats.  This was because I work long hours, so I figured it would be better to have two cats so they did not get lonely.

I had long wanted to enjoy the company of felines again, especially since I grew up with a house full of cats.  The base dorms do not allow pets.  While some people may disobey this rule, I did not.  Thus, I was quite ecstatic when I finally moved off base and was able to adopt cats.

Chantico is a chocolate point Siamese.  She is named after a very rich chocolate drink that Starbucks used to offer.  Rob likened this drink to drinking a brownie.  I bought Chantico from a breeder.  She is the second Siamese that I have had.  I was impressed with how quickly Colby and Cheddar adapted to her presence.  They had not been so kind to her predecessor.  It was quite entertaining to see two big orange cats being chased around by a little white cotton ball of a kitten.

My first Siamese was named Chaos.  I realized after tracing Chantico's lineage that Chaos was an uncle of hers.  Chaos was the runt of his litter.  I thought it would be best to have another male, and he was the only one left, so I chose him.  It turned out that he has some serious health problems.  He died a month after I bought him.  He had a knot or fold in his digestive tract that prevented him from digesting food properly.

Anyhow, I bought a couple of new pieces of cat furniture to replace the scratching posts they have effectively shredded.  They have been enjoying them quite a bit, so far.  I bought them some fuzzy mice, too, but they seemed more interested in eating those.  I do not want them eating those.  They tend to be bad for the digestive tract.  Colby ate two before they came back up.  Cheddar attempted to eat two more, but I managed to stop him.  I will think of some better toys to get them, I guess.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

