Victim and Troop Issues

I was the victim of a hit-and-run accident last week.  I was driving home from base after conducting some training with a couple of my troops.  A pickup truck pulled out in front of me from the parking lot of a Denny's restaurant.  There was no way I was going to be able to stop in time.  I t-boned the truck.  I think the only reason I remember that it was white is because of the paint transfer on the front of my car.  The female driver of the pickup fled the scene.  Two Good Samaritans that witnessed the accident pursued the fleeing driver and police were able to catch up with her.  I do not know why she fled the scene.  I do not much care at the moment, either.  I would not have minded the lack of insurance or driver's license.  The fact she fled the scene, though, is very upsetting and has left me somewhat traumatized from the accident, even though I suffered no injuries and there is a good chance they will be able to repair my car.

I do not know how the front bumper stayed on the car.  The passenger side front hazard light was disconnected, yet somehow stayed with the car.  I do not know how that worked.  The hood buckled slightly from the impact to the front bumper.  I am not sure if they will have it.  Something in the general area of the radiator is leaking.  I am not sure if it is the radiator itself or if it was something near the radiator.  Both airbags deployed.  The force of the passenger airbag deploying spider webbed the passenger side of the windshield.  I am thankful that I wear my seatbelt when driving my POV.

For now, I am in a rental car.  Rob has a friend who has an extra car that he is willing to let me borrow should I feel the need to.  The insurance agency and body shop have not given an estimate of the damage on my car yet.  They said I might have the estimate by tonight.  I also need to get the police report.  I would like to see if there is information on there as to why the driver fled the scene.  I also would like to see if that person has insurance.

And in the midst of all this, I have two troops trying to walk all over me and one more that has been relieved of duty for something beyond stupid.  I think that troop is just trying to take what they view as an easy way out.  I think he will face some interesting charges if they find the troop's claim to be false.  As for the other two, they failed their evaluations earlier this month, so they are not in a good position to be pissing people off, and I know I am not the only one that is irritated.  I told two sergeants yesterday that if their behavior did not drastically improve, they would find themselves redoing the entire evaluation, not just parts they failed.  I have to turn in the paperwork, and I am not turning it in if I do not feel they are ready.  If they fail again, it could come back on me.  I will NOT let that happen.  I think I will be having a "Come to Jesus" meeting with both of them.  I am not really looking forward to it.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

