Hectic Times

I have found that I am not the only one who is getting irritated with two of my troops.  Numerous other supervisors and the support staff in the unit have voiced their opinions of one of them.  I have told a couple people that they missed a rather heated confrontation between that troop and me in the hallway of our squadron building.  I am still thankful our Chief did not come in as early that morning, because he would have probably intervened.

I admit, the incident leading up to it should have been handled a different way.  I was already frustrated with another troop and was not happy to learn that him and a few others had apparently blown off something they were told to do.  It should have been handled more professionally.  However, I will NOT tolerate one of my troops mouthing off to me in front of several other troops and giving me a very disrespectful attitude.  If he had a problem with what I said, then he should have done what one of the other troops did, and approached me in a more respectful and private manner.  If he wishes to start a public confrontation, that is fine.  I will end it just as publicly.

This confrontation came after I had to deal with another troop not doing what he was supposed to be doing.  I pull an exercise on this troop to prove a point that he needed to pay more attention to his surroundings.  While I am not surprised about the result of the exercise, I was very unhappy about how long it took him to react to it.  His lack of attention and common sense posed a great security risk.  I cannot have that.  I cannot, and will not, babysit this troop while he is on post.  I have other responsibilities and troops to keep track of.  He passed his evaluation, so there is no excuse for what he did.

On a better note, my insurance company decided my car was repairable last week.  I am hoping to hear back from the body shop tomorrow.  I really want my car back.  This decision came after the insurance adjuster told me the car was borderline totaled and would likely be officially totaled after his inspector took a look at it.  The accident caused $6,000 in damage.  I am assuming that my car is worth just over that.  I had just accepted the idea that I should start looking for another car when I was told it would be repaired.  One can imagine how happy I was.

Thanksgiving was a good holiday.  The Veterans of Foreign Wars brought food out to us, so we were well fed.  My friend, Khandi and I celebrated Thanksgiving on Friday.  I invited Rob, but he declined.

Tomorrow, I will be taking another of my troops to the hospital so he can have surgery on his foot.  I suppose I should be happy that he trusts me enough to ask for help.  I hope the surgery is successful.  My troop has plans for next year that will be jeopardized if the surgery does not go well.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

