Ice Storm (Two)

We seem to have gotten through the brunt of the storm, at least for now.  This is not the worst ice storm I have seen.  The roads stayed fairly clear of ice.  The worst part of it was the damage to the power lines and trees.  I have never seen so many damaged trees.  I have seen quite a few that will likely die because of all the branches that have fallen off.  It is a sad sight.  I think Oklahoma needs more trees, and this storm has caused a lot of damage to the ones already here.

My boyfriend, Rob, and my friend, Khandi, have been without power since 1030 yesterday morning.  I believe Rob spent the night at a friend's house.  I am not sure if Khandi was able to do anything.  I tried to call her, but her phone went dead just a few seconds into the conversation.  I hope she is doing okay.  A lot of people I work with were without power, too.  I hope their power comes back on soon.  I know what it is like to go a long time without power.

It was an adventure driving to work.  The road I went down was narrowed to two lanes instead of the usual four because of tree debris.  I called my troops and made sure they knew they still needed to show up.  This was after one troop actually asked me if work was canceled.  Not our career field.  Our job is never done.

It has warmed up a little and the ice is melting.  It is raining, too, so hopefully that will speed the melting process along.  The sooner, the better.  I think it will be good to see the trees relieved of the ice that weights their branches down.  I can only hope that the damage I saw was not as bad as it looked.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

