Cats (Part Three)

It is funny to observe what phases or oddities my cats go through.

For example, the last few days, I have come into my bedroom to find one of the drawers to my dresser open a few inches.  Just wide enough for a cat to squeeze in.  Colby is usually the main offender.  The other two hardly complain, though.  There was one morning I woke up and found the drawer open.  I groggily walked over to it and knocked on it.  Out came all three of the cats.  I probably would have found this more amusing if I had not been half asleep and irritated with them because their movement in the dresser is what woke me up.

Cheddar is usually the one that decides what time breakfast or dinner is.  If I am still asleep, he will start meowing until I get annoyed enough to get up and feed them.  Colby will often chime in with his own attention grabbers.  This is usually in the form of playing with the cords that dangle from the window blinds.  He has also been known to rampage around the apartment, knock the cardboard from the windowsill so the sun disturbs my sleep, and other things.  Chantico will occasionally chime in with her own meows, but for the most part, she is the more behaved of the three when it comes to letting me sleep.  However, if I happen to be on the computer and they are eager for food, any movement on my part that might indicate I am about to get up, they will jump down from their perches and meow eagerly.  This can get annoying when I am trying to do homework.

When I first got Chantico, she was only a couple months old.  I do not think she had quite been weened yet.  The reason I believe this is because I had to keep her from trying to nurse from Colby or Cheddar, particularly Colby for some reason.  It took weeks to break her of this habit.  I am not entirely sure when she finally stopped.  It just happened one day without me noticing.

All three of them seem to enjoy chewing on cardboard, though not as much as they used to.  Cheddar likes styrofoam, too.  I do not know what possesses them to munch on these odd things, but they do, and they seem to suffer no ill effects, thankfully.

What other oddities or phases will they go through? I guess time will tell.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

