Training

It is something that is required in my job anytime I might possibly deploy.  The training we get is a bit repetitive, because it does not change very often.  That is why I am hoping things have changed up a little since I went to this particular training a little over a year ago.

One thing that is different, I will not be going with a full team like last time.  It will only be me and another girl.  I kind of feel bad for her, too, but I will get into that in a moment.  There are some other members of my unit already at this training, but I do not know how much interaction I will have with them.  Also, I will not be on the same team as they are.  The two of us that are going will likely be teaming up with members of another unit.  It will be interesting for sure.

I doubt I will be able to update this, too.  Last time, I had very limited access to e-mail and the news.  I doubt that will change much, though I did discover that my cell phone does access Facebook.  That should make it easier for me to keep in touch with some of my friends.  Yay!

Anyway, I am chasing some rabbits.  The girl that I am going with is very new to the unit.  She has only been in the unit since November, which means she has probably been on her flight since December.  A month or two, tops.  I honestly feel bad for her, because this deployment could possibly mess up her training.  That will be something her team leader will have to discuss with her.  She is not going to the same place as I am.  We are merely going to training together because we both "need" to go.  I will not argue the fact, but I do not feel that I should have to go to this.  I have already been through this particular course, and I did not learn anything new.  I pretty much got better at a few things I already knew.

It should be interesting to see how many things have changed.

When I get back, I will be running around like a chicken with my head cut off trying to get things taken care of, especially in regards to my cats.  I intend to send them home to Seattle, because I cannot find anyone that is willing or able to watch over them here in Oklahoma while I am gone.  Of course, my sending them home before I deploy will depend on the weather cooperating in both Oklahoma and Washington, and probably any place that the fuzzballs may encounter a layover.  I am not looking forward to dealing with that.  I am hoping it warms up considerably so I can get them home before I  go.  Otherwise, things are going to be rather interesting once I am gone.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

