Catching Up

It is always interesting to talk to people one has not seen or heard from in a while.  I had that experience yesterday when a friend from my tour in England suddenly sent me a message out of the blue after at least a year of silence.

I admit, I have been a bit preoccupied with my own life, hence the reason this blog does not get updated as often as I would like it to be.  Perhaps that will change.  Who knows.  I cannot promise anything, because I will feel more guilty if I do not update it more often after promising to.

Anyway, my friend has a bit of news I was stunned to hear.  He is a cancer survivor.  He was diagnosed a year ago.  I never knew until yesterday.  I can only imagine the suffering and pain he went through.  He is the only one I have known who has gotten cancer.  It was kind of surprising that I just now found out.  I figured he would have reached out to friends when he found out he was so ill.  Should I feel bad that I did not keep in touch? I am not sure what to think about it.  I think it is still sinking in.  He says the cancer is in remission, but what is the likelihood of cancer reoccurring? If the cancer does reoccur, will he survive? If not, what will become of his wife and two young sons.  That last part leads me to the second bit of news.  He and his wife welcome their second child earlier this year.

I suppose this is a serious indication of how far I have drifted from some of my old friends.  I suppose this was meant to be, though.  I had sought distance because he was rather obsessed with me for a while, even though he was engaged and later married when I first met him.  And no, nothing ever happened between us, though he would have liked it to.

What other surprises wait for me as I move ahead?

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

