Thoughts (Part Seven)

It always interests me to see what crimes become high profile, what crimes stay local, and one crimes make the news at first, but then disappear except a small blurt in the local news.  Of course, I could say this about most news, though crime has always interested me the most.  Then again, given my choice of career in the military, that should not be a surprise.

For example, news has surfaced of a seventh foot being found off the coast of British Columbia.  I saw a small side mention of it on The Seattle Times web site.  That surprised me, considering how much attention previous findings were given, especially the one that turned out to be a hoax.  I suppose it will probably end up on CNN eventually.  CNN seems to be a bit more occupied with politics and the economy.  I can understand the latter, but the former just annoys the hell out of me.  I got rather tired of all the commercials and phone calls before the election.  It was quite a relief when the elections were finally over with.

I recently visited my family in Washington.  The primary reason was to attend a birthday party for my grandfather, who turned eighty at the end of last month.  While I was there, the newscasters were concerned about coming rainstorms.  I thought it was rather amusing at first.  I joked to my parents, "Rain in Seattle? Imagine that." Of course, the flooding that is occurring now is no laughing matter.

Anyway, back to a brief note on the elections.  Four years ago in Washington, the Governor-elect took office before her rival dropped his suits and demands for recounts.  I was not looking forward to hearing about this again.  Thankfully, it was not as close of an election.  He conceded a day or so later when it became obvious the Governor had been reelected.

I was not surprised about Obama being elected President, either.  He was my choice.  I did not mind McCain, but I could not stand his choice for a running mate.  Ick.

Another thing to note about Washington State's elections was the assisted suicide initiative that passed.  I do not support suicide, whatever the reason may be, thus I was very much against the initiative.  It passed, though.  I wonder what will become of it.

I was somewhat amused by all the news surround the proposition in California passing.  Were they truly surprised? Why? I wonder what will come of all that mess and protests.  And yes, I do not support any rights for homosexuals because I consider homosexuality to be a sin.  Does that make me righteous? Certainly not.  I have sinned many times, and will sin many more times before I join the Lord in Heaven.  Am I proud of this certainty? No, but I cannot deny that it will not inevitably happen.  Does that make me homophobic? I do not believe so.  If I discover someone to be gay, I accept it as their issue.  Do I agree with it? No.  But are they likely to change? No.  Why waste breath about it when there is little chance they will renounce such a behavior? Anyway, enough of that rant.

This started out about crime news.  Lately, I have been getting rather annoyed by all the media attention surrounding little Caylee Anthony.  I am glad her mother is being charged in regard to the girl's disappearance and likely death, but I am getting tired of the media beating the story to death.  I would be quite content not to read about the case again until the little girl is found or her mother goes on trial.

The news about the KKK has interested me in recent days.  This is mostly because they do not make the news as often as they used to.  Many consider this a good sign, and I agree.  I guess I had assumed that they were not as active as recent articles indicate.  I wish my ignorance were actually true in that case.  I find it sad that such groups still exist.

In Seattle, a man known for decades for playing his tuba outside sports games died after being beaten by a group of teens.  He was treated and released, but succumbed to his injuries days later.  Why these kids feel the need to gang up on a person is beyond me.  I find it disgusting and disturbing.  Three have been charged thus far in his death.  I hope they are charged as adults.  Especially since at least one is facing charges in reference to another similar beating, though that one did not result in death.  They need to be shown that there are consequences for their actions.  That is how these teens end up this way.  They somehow go through the system a few times with slaps on the wrists or less and decide they are untouchable.  How do I know? My brother was the same way.  For years, people would not report what he did because they thought he was too young and would learn on his own, or that he would listen to my parents.  No, he did not learn on his own, and he certainly did not learn from our parents.  He refused to listen to my parents, and his stupidity in that area has caused many problems, and not just for him.

But I am ranting again.  I believe I will finish this post here.  Hopefully it will be understood by someone other than me, but it will not bother me either way.  This is an outlet for me, and I will use it, regardless of any understanding people may have.

More to come.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

