Quantum of Solace

For those who are in or plan to visit the Oklahoma City area, I recommend the Warren Theater (or is Theatre?) for any movie plans.  The place has an auditorium which has an upstairs balcony.  One has to be 21 years old or over since they serve alcohol up there, and the seats are twice as expensive as those downstairs, but well worth the price.  The seats are more comfortable, better spread apart in case one happens to be sitting next to a stranger, have a seat warmer for those who may get cold in while watching the movie, and the entire balcony feels much less crowded.  I enjoy it because there is a good view regardless of where one sits up there.

My boyfriend and I went to see "Quantum of Solace" last night.  We were supposed to meet up with a friend of ours and his girlfriend, but they never showed.  I wonder what his excuse will be.  The seats are not cheap.  We were in the middle of the first row of the balcony, so we arguably had the best seats in the auditorium.  Rob took leave in order to come see this movie without having to get up bright and early and report to a full eight hour shift with the knucklehead troops he works with.  I love sitting on the balcony, mostly for the reasons mentioned above.  Rob likes it for those reasons as well as the fact he can order drinks if he chooses.  Since I was the driver last night, he chose to drink.  He ordered three before the bar closed.

The movie started off action packed and brutal as James Bond is involved in a high speed car chase around twisting and winding roads through moderate traffic.  Rob winced and groaned at the destruction of at least one of the expensive cars involved.  He is a car fanatic, so I was not surprised.  I wonder what the guy sitting on the other side of him was thinking, though.  The fast pace kept up through the rest of the movie.  I thoroughly enjoyed it, though I am sure some critics will complain about certain parts.

I was amused by the relationship between Bond and M.  Their exchanges back and forth were entertaining in parts of the movie.  One thing that never ceased to amaze me is how far and how quickly Bond could travel in order to keep the trail he was on hot.  We saw the return of Mathis and Felix, who aid Bond when his movements are restricted and he comes under fire.

One thing Rob enjoys about Daniel Craig's portrayal of James Bond is the brutality he shows as he moves along.  Rob is a big fan of the Ian Fleming books, and he has said on several occassions that he would like to see a more accurate character of Bond in the movies.  Daniel Craig shows the most accurate in his opinion.  I have not read any of the books, so I cannot agree or disagree.  I do enjoy Craig's character more than his predecessor, though.

I think my favorite line in the who movie is towards the end when M says to Bond something along the lines of, "Greene was found in the desert with two bullets in his head and motor oil in his stomach.  Does that mean anything to you?" I will not elaborate further, but perhaps those who have seen the movie will agree with me, or at least appreciate why I was amused.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

