Cats (Part Four)

It is that time of year again.  It got just cold enough outside where I ended up turning on my heater for the first time this cold season.  For whatever reason, one of the cats is terrified of it.  Colby hides every year for a while after I turn on the heater.  Usually, I end up dragging him out from under the bed and closing the bedroom door until he settles down in the living room.  This, of course, upsets the other two cats.  This year, he does not seem as frightened as usual.  He ran and hid at first, but then he kept running back and forth from the bedroom to the kitchen.  It was rather weird.  He is now sitting in the middle of the living room looking up at the heating vent with obvious distrust.  I have to admit, I don't blame him.  The smell for the first couple of times the heater is turned on is horrid.  I do not know what collects up there that makes that smell when the heater is turned on after several months of the air conditioner running, but I am glad to see that Colby is not as frightened by it.

Chantico has become rather antisocial around other people.  It does not matter if she knows the person or not.  I know she knows Rob well.  She used to spend more time around him when he came over than me.   This was especially true if Rob was playing with one of my retracting batons.  Now, she hides whenever she senses someone coming over.  This hiding spot is usually under the bed and she has been heard retreating under it with a low growl.  She will eventually come out and hover in the bedroom doorway if the person is over for a while, but she does not go far from the bed.  I ought to start closing the door when people come over so she cannot do that.  I want these cats to be somewhat sociable.  The main reason I think this is because her behavior towards one friend and recently towards Rob is unacceptable.  If she wants to play invisible when I have company, that is fine.  I will not have one of my cats hissing and yowling at my guests, though.  She did this once with my friend, Justin, and did it on numerous occassions to Rob during my recent visit to Seattle.  Rob resorted to scaring all three cats out from under the bed and closing them out of the bedroom.  This did not really help matters, but at least he knew where all the cats were.  I also gave Rob permission to discipline Chantico if he felt the need.  She does not do anything like that to me for a reason.  I do not tolerate it.  What gets into these cats?

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

