Driver’s License and Holiday Displays

While visiting family up in Washington last month, I decided I probably should renew my Washington driver's license.  It expired in May, but I had not been able to go home to renew due to stuff going on in the military.  Some states allow people to renew licenses online.  Washington does, but they send the code that allows a person to via mail.  I did not get such a code when the notice came to renew the license, so I had to go in person.  No big deal.  Except Washington State gives temporary paper licenses and then sends the actual license within a week, or so they say.  This would force me to wait for my parents to forward the license to me.  I finally got the actual license today.

Since I was thinking about the driver's license, I noted that the state of Indiana is no longer allowing people to smile or wear glasses, among other things, when they take their driver's license photo.  Apparently it has something to do with the software they use to try and determine whether a person is actually who they claim to be when they renew the license.  I think it is a good idea on one hand.  On the other, I think it can be rather annoying, considering how different some people look without their glasses.

I was commenting on these to Rob and his comment was that it did not really affect him since he was allowed to renew online.  I wish I could.  He commented something about Washington State being odd, then pointed out the recent headline about the fiasco surrounding the holiday display in the state capital.

I have noticed that for the last two years now, Washington has made headlines about holiday protests.  Last year, it was because the Seattle Tacoma International Airport removed the Christmas trees it had on display after someone requested a display representing another religion be put up.

This year, it is because of the sign an atheist group erected near other holiday displays.  I do not mind the atheists putting up a sign.  I do mind the fact that sign completely disrespected other religions.  Atheists can state their beliefs, or lack thereof, without disrespecting others.  I was not at all surprised about the firestorm in protests caused by the sign, or the fact the sign disappeared.  Maybe that  group will be smarter about the next sign they decide to put up.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

