Polaroid

My grandparents were fans of this film.  I remember growing up and watching in fascination as the pictures developed before my eyes.  I have only a few Polaroids in my collection of photographs.  One was taken when I was nine or ten.  I was standing in front of my grandfather's small plane.  Another is a picture of my younger brother taken one winter.  He was dressed up like a snowman for some reason or another.  I am not sure how old he was or where the picture was taken.  Another was taken during the one of the summers during my high school years.  I would guess probably 1999 or 2000.  My friend and I are sitting side by side and I am holding a baby kangaroo.  There is a twin picture where she is holding the kangaroo.  I also got some body art done.  I do not know if I ever got pictures of those.  They were done on my forearms.  One was I tiger.  I think the other may have been a dragon.  They were both really neat looking and lasted for days.

Needless to say, I was rather saddened earlier this year when I learned Polaroid would stop making their famous film, despite protests of fans.  I wonder how many people are stockpiling on the film.  I also wonder how many people fondly remember projects or family trips.

(http://www.cnn.com/2008/TECH/12/08/polaroid.farewell/index.html)

I was fascinated by the mention of Tacey Williams taking a Polaroid picture every day for a year.  I have heard of people doing this in the past.  I even knew a woman who was planning on doing such a project and making a scrapbook of those memories for her deployed husband.  I have even considered doing such a project with the smaller of my digital cameras.  So, to know that others have done it is interesting.  Tacey Williams is even trying to get a book of her pictures published.  I might buy such a book.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Polaroid

  1. maura_ea says:

    Hi! I found your post while looking for the "polaroid" tags, and I
    wanted to let you know that while Polaroid is no longer producing
    instant film products you do have other options with Fujifilm. I
    discovered it recently and they just began to sell their "wide" format
    camera, Instax 200, in the States. You can check out some of the result
    on my Vox, or even by heading over to Flickr and searching for "instax".They
    also have a smaller format – identical to the Polaroid Mio – called
    Instax Mini. Its a bit harder to find in the States but readily
    available on eBay. I love it – just trying to spread the word 🙂

  2. Emeree says:

    Hey! Thanks for sharing! I had no idea until you said something. I might have to look into this.

Leave a Reply

