Starbucks

Part of my last minute Christmas shopping was a trip to Starbucks.  I had intended to stop off somewhere nearby with the hope of getting a gift for someone, but the store was already closed, so that gift might have to wait.  Since the Starbucks was just a few buildings away, I decided to stop in there and get a hot drink.  Not surprisingly, the place was packed.  I do not think I have ever seen it that busy before.

After I got my drink, I settled into a comfy chair in the corner.  I was mostly watching people as they walked in and out.  One guy happened to walk back in with his drink and, after a moment, asked if he could sit down at the seat opposite mine.  I nodded and he said it was because it was more comfortable than the wooden chairs nearby.  I agreed.

Since we happened to be sitting near each other, we chatted about small things.  The Christmas rush, what I had been doing, what he had been doing, where I was from, if I worked at the base across the street, had I ever ridden on a motorcycle.  That last part ended with him offering to give me a ride on his bike.  I politely declined, saying I was nervous about riding on motorcycles, even as a passenger.  He seemed disappointed, which was a little creepy.  I finished my drink and made a polite exit.

I enjoy watching people and do not mind talking to them, but that conversation was just a little odd.  Alarm bells were going off.  I wonder if the guy realized how nervous he made me with that.  It seemed like he was flirting with me, or trying to get me to divulge information.  I am not sure which, but I was grateful to get out of there.  Hopefully, that does not happen again, and I am also hoping it was just me being paranoid.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

