Reflections (Part Three)

Need to do these more often.  I just realized the last time I did a reflections post, I had heard a rumor I would deploy to Iraq for six months.  The deployment changed, and I ultimately got pulled from the team altogether.  But I do not want to dwell on those thoughts.  The first part of last year was not pleasant for me, and that shadow followed through the rest of the year.  Needless to say, I am very glad 2008 is over.  I look forward to 2009 with a lot of hope and anticipation.

Last year was not all bad.  Mom got her Master's Degree.  Two of my friends got married.  I reconnected with a couple other friends.  My cousin found out she was pregnant with her second son.  My grandfather celebrated his 80th birthday, and I was there at the birthday party.

By far not one of the best years, but there were enough good times to keep me going.  I think I have mentioned that in previous entries, but I do not mind repeating it.  The more I repeat it, the more true it seems to me.

So what are my resolutions? I do not do resolutions.  I do goals.  First and foremost is to get a job that will pay the bills.  I am hoping that a specific job is still open.  If it is, that will be the ideal job for me.  Once I land a job, my mother will stop pestering me for details on the job hunt.  It gets rather tedious when I am talking to her and all she wants to do is repeat the same advice she told me during our last conversation.

My second goal is to finish up my Associate's with the University of Phoenix.  That will make me a bit more marketable for the job I actually want, which is law enforcement.

My third goal is to get back into shape and drop some weight.  This will probably be the hardest for me.  I already know this.  Small steps at a time, though.  I am already working on a plan to achieve this goal.

My fourth goal is to work on the relationships I have in the local area here.  I can almost feel some friendships slipping through the cracks.  While some are not my fault necessarily, I do not think I have been really working on these friendships as hard as I should be.  At least one friendship will depend on whether one particular friend will decide to acknowledge that they have been rather distant and not forthcoming over the past few weeks.  I do not like discovering things through word of mouth when I just talked to the person a couple days before that and there was no mention of such.

So, those are my goals this year.  I will look back at this post later and see how well I succeeded.  I am hoping this year turns out much better than last.  A good year will be really nice after what all happened last year.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

