Yuck Season

Yeah, it is the time of year where those who catch every bug will get sick.  My boyfriend is among those people, and he has been suffering flu like symptoms over the past twenty four hours or so, and he thinks they are getting  worse.  Not something to look forward to.  When he gets sick, he gets laid low for about a week.

Of course, I remember one guy on flight last year who kept getting sick.  He would get over it, then his kids would get sick, then he would get sick again.  It was a seemingly endless cycle.  I told him more than once to stay away from me.  I remember calling the Flight Sergeant more than once last year around this time and telling them my partner of the night needed to go home because he had spent the past twenty minutes in the bathroom.  One partner nearly got a search party sent in to make sure he was okay.

Interestingly enough, with as much as I used to be around illness and what not, the most I caught was the nasty head cold that would seep into my lungs for a week or so.  I have not been really sick since boot camp, when I battled bronchitis most of the last half of training.  Not fun when part of that time is spent running around in the field or breathing through gas masks.  It has been over seven years since that experience.

So, this time of year I knock on wood and hope for another year of illness free days.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

