Cats (Part Five)

Well, it has been a while since I last updated on my furrballs, and my parents' furrballs.  This may be repetitive in some areas, but I do not feel like going through several months of entries to figure out whether I included a specific detail about them.  Here goes.

Colby has gotten over his habit of opening the dresser drawer in the morning when he decides he is hungry.  He still likes to bat at the cords for the window blinds, though.

Cheddar is still obsessed with food.  He gets extremely upset if someone tries to keep him away from the food dishes while food is actually in them.  Rob tried this out while I was in Seattle in October and November.  He finds it quite amusing to harass the cats.  One thing he discovered while watching the cats is that Cheddar is afraid of the sound of jingling keys.  I get a laugh every time I picture Rob chasing poor Cheddar around the apartment and jingling his keys while Cheddar is yowling in terror.

Chantico has proven once again to not like company.  I have no idea why she does not like Rob, because he does not harass the cats too much.  When Rob was watching them while I was visiting family, she hid under the bed until I asked Rob if he would get her out.  He did, and the cats were shut out of my room for the remainder of my visit in Seattle.  Chantico then spent her time either under the kitchen sink or on top of the fridge.  She would hiss and/or yowl at Rob any time she thought he might be in the kitchen.  He did not even have to acknowledge her or go near her.  This resulted in her being doused with water a couple times because she refused to stop.  I will never understand why she decides to be antisocial.

My parents have suffered a couple losses over the years with their cats.  First was Tundra.  He likely succumbed to old age.  Patches died in August, but not of old age.  Her death finally made my parents realize they needed to keep any cats they got afterward indoors, away from the busy street they live on.  In the midst of mourning over the loss for Patches, they decided eventually to see about getting a couple kittens.  This, they believed, would help keep Prince company, since he is the only cat that comes inside regularly.  They got two kittens, one all back and the other black and white.  Stealth and Tuxedo.  Appropriate names for them, I believe.  It was fun watching their reactions when they saw Prince.  They were terrified of him at first, even though he did nothing more than meow at them.  By the time my visit in Seattle concluded, though, Stealth had braved his terror of the much larger cat and was seen sitting next to him on my mother's lap.

My cats have a friend.  This gray and white tabby cat has shown up at the window numerous times over the past few months, but more so over the past month.  This can be both amusing and irritating.  I think it is a female cat and that it may be in heat, though I cannot be certain.  I cannot get near the cat to check.  It has taken to yowling in the evening to announce its presence.  Chantico does not acknowledge it, unless she happens to be sitting on the windowsill when it shows up.  Cheddar will occasionally go to the window and look out.  It is Colby that seems either infatuated or irritated at the mere presence of this cat, though.  He will paw frantically at the window if the cat is sitting on the ledge outside.  This is the amusing or irritating part, depending on my mood and how long he has been trying to get at this cat.  The cat seems to have an owner.  It has a nice coat, appears to be healthy, and seems to be getting plenty to eat.

Hm… I cannot think of any other updates on the felines I know.  I will make another entry if I do, though.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

