Doomwyte by Brian Jacques

I am on a fantasy roll.  I checked my stack of unread books a moment ago (some of them, anyway) and  realized that I have six fantasy books lined up.  Those should keep me busy for a little bit, hopefully.

Doomwyte features a murderous band of carrion birds and lizards striving to find the long missing jeweled eyes of their beloved statue.  The jewels were stolen unknown ages ago by Gonff the Mousethief, friend of Martin the Warrior, after he witnessed the brutal slayings of two woodland creatures.  Coincidentally, a young mouse and squirrel at Redwall Abbey begin the hunt for the jewels, which are rumored to be hidden around Redwall.

I enjoyed this book more than High Rhulain.  It was interesting hearing more about the life of long dead heroes, as well as trying to solve the riddles in the book before the characters did.  I thought I did pretty well on the latter, but that is probably a sign of how much I enjoy these books.  I eagerly await the next Redwall novel, though I was disappointed to learn that it would not be released until early next year.  While I was trying to find more information about the upcoming novel, I saw tidbits about a movie that is rumored to be coming in 2011.  If that is true, I will be looking forward to that, as well.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

