First Interviews

I actually received some interest on an application I submitted online last week.  I was beginning to wonder if people even bothered reading online applications, because I had not received anything back from any of the companies I had applied with.  This is after the same companies had taken the time to post job openings on sites like Monster.  So, when I checked my e-mail yesterday, I really did not have much hope that I would see anything other than the usual notifications.

Surprise.  I had an e-mail from a company! I was invited to go talk to a representative who is in the area doing initial interviews.  I was so excited last night and early this morning that I could not sleep and kept worrying about things like "What if I cannot find the building?" or "What if they do not show up?" or "What if it is like the last time I was supposed to go in for an initial interview?" I will explain that last one in a moment.

I got up this morning feeling surprisingly energetic considering I had not slept particularly well.  I will probably feel the effects from that in a few hours.  I checked to make sure I knew how to get to the building.  I was very happy to discover that I had driven by the building on several occasions and it was hard to miss.  I walked in feeling somewhat apprehensive and was told to sign in.  Once that was accomplished, I was led back into a conference room and handed a job application to fill out by hand.  Once I got that filled out, I actually sat down and talked to the company representative.

I thought the initial interview went fairly well.  He told me when I could expect a call (late this week or early next; I am hoping for the sooner) and what I could expect after that.  He mentioned what starting pay would probably be after taking note of what I had put on my application.  He also mentioned what dates specific job sites would be starting (late March, early April).  I asked about promotion opportunities and possible transfers should I choose to move.  Overall, I am quite optimistic after the conversation.  It was shorter than I expected, but there were other applicants waiting to talk to him.  Now, I am trying hard not to stalk the phone.  There is also a paranoid thought in my head about whether I put the right contact information down.  I am laughing at myself right now.

Anyway, last time I had a supposed interview that was scheduled online (via the company's website) I walked in and soon realized they had no idea that I was coming in, that I had applied, etc.  I ended up walking away with no interview, no promise of a possible interview, and with a sense of frustration after having spent time thinking about it, worrying about it, and hoping for a positive outcome.  I ultimately decided I did not want to work there and opted not to resubmit an applications.

Today was a much better experience.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to First Interviews

  1. PeacefulWmn9 says:

    I'm glad the interview went well. Good luck, too, on getting the job : )

    Karen

Leave a Reply

