Reflections (Part Four)

I have been thinking a lot about the days before I joined the military for whatever reason.  Not high school, though.  Times with friends and people I hung out with outside the school, especially in regards to the Taekwondo school my brother, mother, and I attended.  This is not surprising, considering before I left, I was there five, sometimes six, times a week.  There are a lot of good memories there, and they have been floating up to the top of my thoughts for several days now.

A lot of things have changed about the school.  I can count on one hand the number of students who are still there from when I was an active student.  Most have gone their separate ways, and some were not necessarily on good terms, unfortunately.  The blue mats were replaced at some point with red mats that still surprise me every time I walk in.  The stripes representing each of our ranks that used to decorate the wall are gone, too.

Yet, I still enjoy spending time there when I am home.  It is comforting in its familiar air and its happy memories of training and teaching.  I sometimes wish I were not nearly 2,000 miles from it.  I have not been able to find a school like that around here, though I have admittedly been reluctant to look.

I guess we are all struck with random periods of homesickness.  I think I was long overdue for one.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

