Rattle

This morning, I had just woken up for some reason.  The cats were probably demanding food.  I was debating on whether or not to roll over and attempt to ignore them when I felt it.  The bed shook for a split second, and then I heard the entire apartment rattle.  It lasted maybe a second.  Not anywhere near long enough to me to consider finding a place to take cover.  I was somewhat surprised that the cats did not even bat an eye or whisker.

I read the news later and discovered there had been a 3.4 earthquake.  I live a few miles from the epicenter, apparently.  Interestingly enough, this is the fifth small earthquake the area has had so far this year.  I wonder if there will be any more of them.

I am no stranger to earthquakes.  The Seattle area gets them from time to time, as well.  My first experience with earthquakes was in seventh grade.  I was reading a book on my bed when everything started shaking back and forth.  It sounded like someone was stomping up and down in the living room.  By the time I had gotten off the bed and staggered to my doorway, the room had stopped moving.  It was the biggest topic of conversation the following day at school.

There was another my senior year in high school on Ash Wednesday.  I was walking down the hall after eating lunch.  Most of the other students were either in class or were still eating in the cafeteria.  I was bored, so I decided to wander slowly to my next class and find a quiet place to study.  As I was walking, I felt my right ankle try to give out.  I had injured the ankle seriously twice the year before, and it had not quite recovered.  It rolled to the side from time to time.  I figured that was all that had happened.  Suddenly, everyone was being told to evacuate the building.  There had been a small disco ball in the cafeteria from a previous dance.  The ball fell and shattered during the earthquake.  I was somewhat surprised that I did not feel the 6.8 earthquake, other than my ankle trying to roll on me.  When I got home from school that afternoon, a couple things had been knocked off the shelves, but nothing was damaged.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

