Interviews

This week has been busy for me.  I went around last week and submitted job applications to several businesses in the area in hopes of finding a job.  Much to my surprise, I got a phone call the next day from Target.  I was not expecting a call from anyone until the end of the week at the earliest.  I had submitted an application a couple months ago with them, and got no response, so that added to my surprise.  I agreed to come in for an interview, which was yesterday.  I spent the rest of the week slowly tying myself in a knot of excitement and anxiety.

Monday, I got a phone call from Brinks.  I had submitted at least two applications with them as well, and was beginning to think I would not get any response again.  I have an interview with them tomorrow afternoon.

The interview yesterday went well.  There was a goof up somewhere in the communication, though.  When I walked in, I was told I had missed the interview.  Apparently, it was written down that my interview was on Monday.  I told them I had clarified the date with the person that called me.  They gave me the benefit of the doubt, but told me the position I applied for had been filled.  Would I be interested in a different position? I am willing to do about anything for a job at this point, so I said yes.  I took a couple questionnaires and did the interview.  The interview was in two parts.  I did the first part yesterday and came back for the second part today.  I am going back tomorrow morning for the official job offer, background check, and drug screening.  I am very ecstatic.  Not the ideal job, but it will bring in money, should I take to offer, which I am seriously considering.

The possibility of a job with Brinks would be more ideal, but I have a few things going against me in that area.  I do not have the required CLEET (Council of Law Enforcement Education and Training) license.  I need that in order to do any type of private security.  I also do not have an Oklahoma driver's license, and this job will require me to obtain a Class B endorsement.  While I am sure Brinks offers to help pay for those, most security companies I have applied for are far more interested in people who already have them.  I will go in with an open mind and high hopes tomorrow afternoon, of course.  It will be a good experience for me, either way.  I am far from experienced when it comes to job interviews.

This week has proven to be an interesting and exciting one so far.  I hope it will continue that way.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

