Job Offers

Earlier this week, I was facing two job interviews and feeling rather nervous about them, especially the second interview.  The interviews were with Target and Brinks.  The reason I was more anxious about the interview with Brinks is because it was the more ideal of the two companies.  It allows me to further my career in the Security or Law Enforcement career field.  However, I did not have a couple of the licenses they require; the CLEET and an Oklahoma driver's license.

I honestly did not expect much to come from the interview with Brinks.  I managed to get a job offer from Target and tentatively accepted it the morning of my interview with Brinks.  I walked into the Brinks office expecting nothing more than to walk out with more experience in making it through job interviews.  I definitely did not expect to be offered a job as soon as I walked in.  The interview was rather short, because most of their questions were answered by my application.  They were quite pleased with my application.  My military background was a definite plus here.

It is not set in stone, by any means.  I still have a bit of running around to do before they officially hire me, but I am hoping to get some of that taken care of today.  For example, I will be heading down there later this morning to take care of some paperwork.  Afterward, if I have time, I will be looking into getting my Washington license transferred to an Oklahoma license.  I do not think that will be difficult.  My only concern is finding the place.  If all works out well, I might be getting paid as early as April 6th.

I should probably call Target and let them know to keep looking.  I do not doubt they will find someone to take the slot I had been offered fairly quickly.

Needless to say, I am on cloud nine right now with how this week has gone.  It definitely surpassed all expectations I had of it.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Job Offers

  1. I'm so glad the job hunt is going well for you.

  2. Afterward, if I have time, I will be looking into getting my
    Washington license transferred to an Oklahoma license. I do not think
    that will be difficult. Piece of cake. Show up with your current driver's license, take a quickie eye test, fill out a teeny bit of paper work and — BOOM! — you've got an OK license. The most time consuming parts are standing in line and waiting for the darn plastic on the license to cool down after they laminate it.

  3. Emeree says:

    Cool! Thanks. 🙂 Debating on whether I want to brave the thunderstorm or wait until later.

Leave a Reply

