Strange Customers (Part One)

I was on the sales floor earlier today putting stuff on the shelves when I noticed an elderly woman with a questioning look on her face.  I asked her if I could help her find something.  Kitchen towels.  She could not find them.  I directed her to where some were.  As she stood looking at them, I asked if there was a particular color she was looking for.  She told me no.  I nodded and started to walk away.  Then, she added, "I just wanted to dry my hands off."  I spun around, but could only give a dumbfounded look as I saw her wiping her hands on the towel she had selected.  Why someone would go looking for merchandise for something like that is beyond me.  I still cannot think of what to say about that.  If she had told me she needed to wipe her hands off, I could have pointed her to the restrooms where she could use the paper towels.

Later, a co-worker and I were working near an aisle and two Marines walked up.  My co-worker knew at least one of them from high school.  They talked for a few minutes.  She mentioned she had just gotten out of training, where she was stationed, and confirmed (to me) she was working with her recruiter for a couple weeks before heading to her first duty station.  After they walked away, my co-worker expressed disbelief that she had even spoken to him.  Apparently, the two did not really hang out in school, and he did not particularly care for either of them.  I think it is funny how faulty the memories of some people are.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

