Promises in Death by J.D. Robb

I have not been reading as much over the past month or so.  This is somewhat due to me trying to get used to switching my sleep schedule back to something more normal while I am working.  Of course, when I know I do not have to work the next day, I stay up until the wee hours still.  Oh well.  At least I can sleep at night again when I have to, right?

This is the latest in J.D. Robb's 'In Death' series, which I am a big fan of.

Lieutenant Eve Dallas is called to a murder scene where she identifies the victim as a fellow cop, who was likely killed with her own weapon.  To make things more interesting, the death is personal, because the fallen cop is a close friend of the Chief Medical Examiner.  As Eve heads into the investigation, she uncovers a link between the fallen officer and a past enemy of both Eve's and her husband's.  Eve must find out whether the victim was a dirty cop; an answer which could devastate her friend.  In the midst of all this, she is to be the unwilling host of a bridal shower.

This book was more about the investigation, which I liked.  It did get into some background of one of the character's, but not as much as in previous novels.  Overall, I think this book was a very smooth read, and definitely one I did not want to put down.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Promises in Death by J.D. Robb

Leave a Reply

