Strange Customers (Part Two)

Part of my job requires me to put stuff on the sales floor.  In the midst of doing this, it is pretty common for a customer to come up and ask a question.  Most of the time, I can either point them in the right direction.  The other day, though, I had one older woman come up to me and almost demand to know if there were any blankets that had not been made in China.  I was caught completely off guard and could only stare at her for a moment before asking her to repeat the question.  Then, I admitted I had no idea.  The woman went into a huff and stalked away.  She did not leave the area, because a relative who was with her continued to look at baby stuff.  Every time the woman pushed her cart past the aisle I happened to be working on, I could hear her muttering under her breath.

Yes, I am aware that there have been issues with some products coming out of China.  As far as I know, though, blankets and clothes were not among them.  I could be wrong, but I do not remember seeing those items in the news.  I continued what I was doing, though it got to the point where I considered asking her if she knew where the clothes she was wearing where made.  The thought lasted only a split second and served only to bring a slight smile of amusement at the thought.  It would take a great deal more for me to actually ask something like that.

Later, I mentioned what happened to some of my co-workers.  Most of them were as surprised as I had been.  One guy, however, commented, "Oh, you got one of those people."  He says he gets that question about once a month.  Well, I had been working there a little over a month at that point, so I was due for one, I guess.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Strange Customers (Part Two)

  1. This is where some of my older, wiser relatives would shake their heads and smile, saying, "Takes all kinds, doesn't it?" I bet you're going to wind up with a whole collection of amusing anecdotes like this.

  2. Emeree says:

    I'm sure I will. It's always entertaining to hear my dad's response to these stories, because he's been in retail for years. If anyone has seen and heard it all when it comes to odd customers, it would be him.

Leave a Reply

