Dewey by Vicki Myron

I do not normally wander into the realm of non-fiction.  If I do, it usually involves the story of a high profile crime, such as Ann Rule's book about Ted Bundy.  This one caught my eye, though.  Not surprising, though.  After all, it is about the life of a famous cat and I am a cat fanatic.

It amazes me how far the story of Dewey traveled.  It is probably traveling even further now that this book has been published.  Two library workers, including the author, head to work one frigid morning.  They start emptying out the return book drop box after hearing a strange noise inside and are horrified to find a small kitten.  That is how the story of Dewey begins.

Throughout the story, the author tells of what she has gone through in her life and what the small town of Spencer, Iowa had gone through before and during Dewey's reign at the public library.  Dewey proved to be a remarkable cat.  There was hardly anyone he would not approach at the library.  Little by little, he won over the town, then the county, and then beyond with his antics.

Definitely a book I recommend for any cat lover.  I could easily understand the delight, frustration, amusement, and variety of other emotions that came from caring for Dewey.  Still, this cat seemed to be able to sense when people needed him the most and what they needed him to do.  I was continuously surprised by how tolerant and accepting he was of so many people.

And for those who might be wondering, no, I did not read three books over the weekend.  I finished three books that were each more than halfway done.  I have a tendency to start reading one book, and then get sidetracked by another.  Add in how busy I have been with work and such, and I undoubtedly have a stack of at least five more books that I have not finished.  And I am not entirely sure which books they are.  I will eventually find them, though, and either start them over, or pick off where I left off.  That would depend on the book.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

