A Scary Moment

My computer restarts itself every now and again.  It seems to be fairly common with Vista, because I am not the only one who has noticed this annoyance.  Anyway, I heard the start-up music from my laptop sometime around 0400 this morning.  I was half awake already for whatever reason, so I was not bothered by that fact.  I simply shrugged it off and rolled over.

This afternoon, when I got home from work, and after feeding three very demanding fuzzballs, I went to my trusty laptop and opened it and started in a growing since of horror at an unfamiliar wallpaper.  Half the icons were missing and there were no documents, pictures, music, or anything.  Almost half panicked, I decided to restart the computer again.

Amazingly, and much to my relief, the familiar wallpaper showed up and everything else was in its place.  I suppose the computer started up in a safe mode or something.  Still, it was a little frightening to think that I might have lost all that stuff.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

