Drama and Cars

Things can never stay quiet in life, can they? I was working over the weekend and got several ranting text messages from a friend.  She was complaining about her soon-to-be ex-husband not calling her back about when he would pick up the rest of his stuff from her apartment.  She alternated between threatening to throw it all out, or just showing up at his work one morning and giving it to him.  Interestingly enough, she was quite surprised when he was highly irritated that she had suggested the latter.  Yes, I told him of that threat.  I figured it would be the quickest way to get him to respond and end the silly argument after he blew off my complaint over the several ranting messages I received because of it.  Thankfully, I have not gotten any more text messages while at work.  If she does it again, I may have to tell her not to text during certain hours.  She knows I work during the day, so I am not sure why she thinks it is okay to do that.

I have not had car trouble, but my brother has.  His car has been continuously acting up for at least a month now.  Part of the problem is that there are several things wrong with the car.  The other part is the shop he keeps taking it to are not diagnosing the right problem.  They seem to be finding the cheapest fix to the problem, disregarding the fact that the problem is only temporarily fixed.  He ended up taking the car in to have the water pump replaced, and I am hoping he said a few choice words to them over not discovering that problem sooner.  A family friend was very kind to follow him over there and give him a ride back to wherever he needed to go.  As one can imagine, the cost of constant repairs can get quite high.  My brother is now very appreciative of our parents for offering to help him with the cost.

This is not the first time my family has had issues with that repair shop.  When I first got my driver's license, I had an old Ford Tempo.  It worked fine for the first few months I was driving it around.  Then, it stalled on me just after I got off the interstate.  I was amazed my brother and me did not get hit by traffic behind us.  A Good Samaritan helped us get the car down the hill and parked in front of a quickie mart.  I still wish I had remembered to get his name.  A couple of frantic phone calls later, I had the car jumped and managed to somehow limp it to this repair shop that my father had been taking cars to for years.  The following month, the car started having issues shifting gears, especially uphill.  This can be a huge problem with an automatic, especially where I lived, because steep hills were plentiful.  A month after that, the car died again.  This time, I was fortunate enough to have just pulled alongside my dad's pickup truck with the intent to parallel park behind it.  I simply had to turn to my brother and sigh, "Go inside and tell Dad I'm going to need his help parking the car." Finally, the repair shop correctly diagnosed the first and third problem.  The alternator was dying, but they refused to believe everyone who suggested that.  The second problem was caused by something else and would likely result in worse problems down the road, so my parents decide it was a good idea to get another car.  They figured, "If we're going to spend a couple hundred dollars a month on a car, it better be one that isn't constantly having issues."

So, after this latest round with my brother's car, my family may be going elsewhere for future car repair needs.  I would hope so, anyway.  I certainly would not want to take my car there.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

