Already?

I cannot be the only one amazed at how quickly this year has gone by.  We are setting up the Halloween stuff already.  I do not really want to believe that is only six weeks away.  Geez.

As the Halloween stuff was getting set up, a co-worker motioned me over and pointed out these candles.  They are either skulls or pillars decorated with skulls with ooze red wax when lit.  I almost immediately thought of my youngest brother, and told him so later that morning.  He was amused, as was our mother when she learned of it.

My brother is taking classes at one of the community colleges near my parents' house starting next week, I believe.  Because of his service in the Navy, he is eligible for the Post 9/11 GI Bill.  However, the school seems to be dragging their feet when it comes to getting the necessary paperwork done.  My brother is not thrilled with this.  Luckily, one of our uncles happens to work at the college and has been working to get this obstacle course of paperwork taken care of.  I need to call and ask for an update on that.

My parents' cat, Prince, fell very ill late last month and into the first part of this month.  He had lost a considerable amount of weight between my visit in October and my very brief visit in June.  I expressed concerns, but he seemed to be eating enough, and actually started eating more after I left when my parents bought a different type of cat food he apparently liked better.  Well, that did not last.  He all but stopped eating and drinking and was rushed to the vet.  He was hydrated, blood samples were taken, and medication was handed over.  He had to be force fed for a few days before he became very interested in the food dish again.  However, his blood work revealed that he was not getting better.  He spent several days at the vet before slowly turning things around.  He is now back at home and slowly recovering from a type of Hepatitis.  My mother has a small pharmacy at home to ensure he continues in the right direction.  Recent pictures show him to look rather ragged, but he is eating more and participating in life around the house.  I can only hope one of the younger cats, Tuxedo, starts behaving himself around Prince.  He has taken to hissing any time he comes near the older cat.  Another update will come soon.  We are waiting for the results of his latest blood tests.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

