Home

I have been home for a little over a week now.  No complaints about that, either.

The road out of Colorado was grueling.  I had never traveled on mountain roads before, so I was a bit unprepared for the constant up and down, not to mention the sharp twists and turns.  The roads had sand and slush on them from all the snow.  I stopped on one occasion because some washer fluid had frozen onto the nozzles and prevented me from washing the crud off my windshield, and I was having trouble seeing the road.

I do not remember how long it took me to get out of the Rockies, but Utah seemed almost empty in comparison to the towering mountains I had just driven through.  It was very rural.  I saw a sign on my travels that warned of no services for 50+ miles.  I stopped and refueled after that drive in case it happened again.  Sure enough, if I had stayed on that interstate, it would have been over a hundred miles before I saw another gas station.  Wow.  I stopped for the night a little north of Salt Lake City in the town of Tremonton.

The next day took me through the rest of Utah and into Idaho, eastern Oregon, and finally Washington.  More mountain roads, too.  Eastern Oregon and eastern Washington were quite windy.  My small car, even with all the stuff I had packed into it, was getting blown around the road.  I kept at it, though.  I reached the Cascades Mountains around 1700.  The roads were not quite as bad as the Rockies, Blue Mountains, or the other winding roads I drove down.

I made it home around 1830, which surprised my parents.  They had not expected me for at least another hour and a half.  I admitted I had been making up for lost time in the very rural parts of northern Utah and southern Idaho.

My cats are slowly adjusting to their new home and housemates.  My Siamese has so far decided she does not like my parents' cats.  However, she is slowly getting used to being around my parents.  She does not have much choice there if she wants attention.

Work goes as well as can be expected.  I am not getting lost nearly as often in the store, which is much larger than the one I transferred from.  I have restarted classes in Taekwondo, and I have several people trying to convince me to take up Thai Kickboxing, too.  I have not made that decision yet, and may not until after Thanksgiving.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Home

  1. Wow, sounds like an exhausting journey. I bet you slept well that night!

Leave a Reply

