Thanksgiving

I hope all who celebrated today had a blessed day.

My parents and I got up this morning and started prepping the turkey.  It was a 20 pound bird my grandmother found at the grocery store.  I helped by mixing the stuffing ingredients together while Dad got the turkey ready.  My eyes proved that Mom bought some good onions earlier this week.

After stuffing the bird and putting it in the oven, we started cleaning the house.  All the while, the cats were being bratty.  My brother, Nathan was the first to arrive.  He promptly started shining his boots.  I have no idea why, but I found it more amusing than irritating.  He promptly made the point moot when he tackled our brother, Martin when he arrived a little while later.  It is a long standing tradition that Nathan will tackle Martin whenever they see each other.  My grandparents arrived a little while after that.  We chatted in the midst of meal preparations.  I started peeling potatoes.  My dad made me look like an amateur when he finished the last three potatoes.

Our feast was done around 1700.  Turkey, green bean casserole, au gratin potatoes, bread rolls, salad, and stuffing.  It was delightful.  Dessert was either chocolate meringue or pecan pie with french vanilla or chocolate moose track ice cream.

The evening went well.  The only annoyances were Grandpa talking about politics, which is something I really do not like discussing during family gatherings; Grandma fretting about why her pecan pie was runny, something she swore had never happened before (I recall at least one previous occasion, but the pie was good in both cases); and Grandma asking questions she should know the answers to.

All in all, it was a good evening.  I am headed to bed, and dreading my shift tomorrow.  Gr….

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

