Bruises

They are fairly common in martial arts.  Most of the time, one has no recollection of how the bruises were collected.

Last Friday, I was paired up with another girl a couple years younger and a couple belts lower than I in sparring class.  We went through the kicking drills and the first round of actual sparring.  At some point, I blocked one of her strong back kicks with my forearm.  I vaguely remember the hit, but thought nothing of it until after class when I was taking the pads off and saw the beginnings of the nasty looking bruise that stands out on my left forearm.

It has blossomed to an ugly purplish-black bruise about the diameter of a golf ball.  My co-workers keep asking how I got it.  One of the managers even asked me about it in front of most of my other co-workers, which was slightly uncomfortable.  I keep having to explain that I take martial arts and ended up blocking a kick the other night.  One complained that her arm hurt just looking at mine.  It has been an amusing last couple of days, but I hope the bruise heals up somewhat over the next couple days while I am off.  Most of my co-workers react with relief when they realize I did not hurt myself at work.

Amazingly, no customers have said anything about it.  I figured they would be the worst about it.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

