January Testing

I was the green belt coach this time around.  The head instructor walked up to me yesterday when he was deciding what rank each of us would be coaching and asked me what my favorite color was.  I had four younger students to keep an eye on.  Luckily, they all knew their forms and the answers to any questions they were likely to be asked.  Of course, this was until the testing started.  I had one student start doing a different block in the middle of his form while they were in front of the instructors.  I have no idea why he started doing that.  His form looked fine before.  None of them really had any power behind their forms, either, which prompted the head instructor to make them do it again, and then talk to them about it.

I suppose I should be glad I did not have to worry about the student who spent most of the testing with a finger up his nose or the student who could not figure out what his last name was or how to tie his own belt.

We had a black belt who was testing a month late for his next degree.  All the other black belt candidates tested last month.  I am not sure why this one did not, but he was obviously scared to be going in front of the instructors by himself.  He was still shaking as the testing was coming to a close and some of us (all of those assisting with the testing are at least a couple degrees ahead of him) took turns trying to reassure him that the hardest part of the testing was over.  I am sure he felt much better after he finished.

All in all, things went smoothly for the most part.  Just a couple problem kids who could not settle down.  We deal with that every testing, though.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

