Two More Steps

I got my Certificate of Eligibility from the VA earlier this week.  This pretty much says they have agreed that I have earned my GI Bill benefits and they will pay them.  I turned that into the college I plan on going to yesterday.  The only thing standing in my way at this point is time.  I cannot register for classes until the first part of next month and the college cannot submit their paperwork to the VA until I do.  It is kind of frustrating having to wait so long.

Yesterday, I also took the COMPASS test.  I have no idea what the name stands for, but it is the placement test for reading, writing, and math skills and all new students are strongly encouraged to take it.  I figured I might as well take care of that since I would be on campus.  I did very well on the reading and writing.  It became rather obvious that I have not taken algebra or anything like that in several years.  Oh well.  I can learn pretty quickly, and math was one of my strongest subjects in high school, so I am not worried about it.

Also earlier in the week, I got summoned for jury duty next month.  Annoyingly enough, my report date is the week before I am supposed to start class.  Generally, the trials do not last more than a week, but there is a chance it will.  That is what the summons said.  Outstanding.  I suspect, however, they might not want a former military police officer on the jury.

And to add an annoyance to the week, my Siamese has been throwing up all week.  I do not think she is sick.  I suspect she is doing it for attention and to inform us of her disapproval of the dry cat food my dad bought last weekend for them.  We had noticed, thank you.  The other cats did not barf everywhere, though.  They did not try repeatedly to ruin pictures or certificates or whatever may be on the furniture or spot she decided to vomit on.  They simply were not eating as much as they usually do.  We got the hint and have gotten a different brand we know they like.  The Siamese for whatever reason will yowl a certain way before she throws up if she knows I am at home and awake.  I have taken to grabbing her and holding her over the sink until she is finished.  If she were genuinely ill, she would throw up.  This week, however, holding her over the sink miraculously heals her upset stomach.  She does not like it when I do that.  Oh well.  I do not like being woken up in the middle of the night to find my blankets in need of washing for the third time in as many days.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

