Gotcha!

My cats frequently chatter on various windsills because of a pair of these birds.  I have been trying for weeks to get my camera out in time to get a halfway decent shot of them.  Obviously, it has not been an easy task.  The birds seem to know they are being watched from the windows, too.  They fly around crazily, hop along the ground and roof of the house, and then pause for a brief few seconds before flying off again.  So, I was quite ecstatic when I finally managed to get a few shots of the birds today.  Unfortunately, they would not sit still long enough for me to get a shot of them together.  Maybe next time.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Gotcha!

  1. Kira says:

    I know what you mean. I recently took on the challenge of trying to get good pictures of birds. Even with the bribe of food, many are jumpy and skidish. Good job at catching one.

  2. Emeree says:

    Thanks. I had to be content with taking the pictures from indoors, since I was afraid I'd spook them by going outside. We sometimes put peanuts out for them, but that seems to get them moving even faster. The cats don't mind this one bit, of course…

  3. Kira says:

    I took many of mine from indoors as well. Learned a lesson about trying to clean the window in below freezing weather. =) And the value of opening it a crack to get good shots in now and then – waxing the track helps too…

Leave a Reply

