Refreshing Class

I attended my first Tae Kwon Do class in nearly a week.  My cold has subsided enough where I was not as concerned about me passing out in class as I was last week.  There were a few minor coughing fits, but nothing bad enough to warrant me stepping out of the class.  I warned any partner I had to be careful due to my cold.  I would not wish that on anyone.  It was horrible.

The instructor had us facing different directions from each other when doing forms.  This is to see how well we knew them.  People who do not know forms as well can be easily confused when facing a different direction than they are used to.  I fared pretty well.  I made a couple minor mistakes, but a few of the students got really confused.  I laughed when my mom made a mistake and the person next to her echoed the same mistake.  He did not know the form very well and was watching her as best he could since she was the closest to him on that side.  It was humorous.  I managed not to say anything, though.  I did not want to irritate anyone.

I helped that student and another go through one of the forms after class.  I am pretty sure one will be testing for his first black belt in June.  I am not sure about the other one, though.  They have some work to do before they are ready, though.  It will be interesting to see their progress.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Refreshing Class

  1. Kira says:

    So it was you that gave me this nasty cold? lol I've have this one for about five days now. It just doesn't want to get any better…

    On another note, I've always wanted to take up one of the Arts. I heard Tae Kwon Do isn't as much cardio as some – which with my asthma would be better for me. I've seen moves that would be handy to know in my line of work – and I need something to get me out, gyms just don't cut it for me.

    How do you like it?

  2. Emeree says:

    I enjoy it! I've been taking Tae Kwon Do since before I joined the military. I like the instructors and the atmosphere of my school. It really depends on the day, though. There are times it's an easier class, and then there are days when the instructor is apparently feeling mischievous. The latter are the days when you walk into the other classroom and realize how much cooler it feels after your class.

  3. Kira says:

    Cool. I need to get a few more things straightened out around here, but once I do I believe I am going to look into taking classes somewhere – it's something I've always wanted to do. =)

  4. Emeree says:

    I had to beg my parents for years to let me take martial arts. My mom finally agreed when I was in high school, much to my amazement. It has probably been one of the best decisions she made.

Leave a Reply

