Odd Complaints

My English teacher requires each of her students to meet with her twice during the quarter to discuss progress.  She is the first teacher I have had who has this requirement.  The first round of conferences is this week and next.  She was passing the sign-up sheet around yesterday and today.  My conference with her is tomorrow afternoon.  I will be finding a quiet corner at the school and doing homework and reading until said meeting.

As the sheet was going around at the end of class, one student noticed a small typo.  Instead of the paper saying Friday, April 16th it said Friday, January 16th.  Now, I imagine most would have shrugged off the typo, if they even noticed it.  Not this guy.  He had to make a big deal about it.  While the instructor was explaining something to another student.  While several other students were waiting for this guy to  pick a time to meet with the instructor, myself included.  I am sure I am not the only one who had a class to get to within ten minutes.  So, he makes a big scene about a small typo and irritates a good quarter of the class and the instructor.  I was less than happy about things when I managed to sign up for my conference a couple minutes later, after the line had diminished.  Luckily, my next class is just around the corner.  Otherwise, I would have left for that class and tried again today.

Friday, we had a paper assigned.  The final draft is due later this month.  The first draft was due yesterday.  Today, the instructor was going over some tips to make the paper easier to manage.  For example, when we got the assignment last Friday, we could have done brainstorming and a free write on the topic we were thinking of writing about.  Then, we could have written the majority of the first draft at our leisure on Saturday.  Then, we could have done any proofreading and editing we felt was necessary before printing out the draft on Sunday.  These tips would make the stress of writing the paper considerably less, she explained.

Now, I chose to do all of the brainstorming, free write, and draft on Sunday.  I like having my weekends clear as much as possible, so I did not do any homework Friday or Saturday.  Was I a little stressed by the time my homework was done Sunday evening? Yes.  My math homework took considerably longer than I anticipated, and that made the rest of the homework last longer.  Did I blame the instructor for not giving me tips on Friday.  No.  I knew it was my fault and accepted that responsibility each time I glanced at the clock on Sunday and fretted about the passing time.

One student actually did comment how she wished the instructor had gone over those tips on Friday.  Really? Was it really that hard of a concept to figure out? If one does a little each day, it might make things less stressful than if one tries to do it all in one day? That is hard? Wow.  A little, five page first draft of a paper stressed her out that much because she did it in one day instead of spreading it out.  And that is assuming she wrote to five pages.  The final draft has to be five pages, but the first draft was not required to be.  I am pretty sure I wrote longer papers than that on a regular basis when I was taking online classes.

Okay.  That is my semi-rant for the day.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Odd Complaints

  1. As a teacher I have found that it is impossible to please everyone at the same time and that there is always at least one student who makes a fuss about trivia – they are usually male.

Leave a Reply

