Glass Shards

That is what it felt like I was swallowing the last half of last week.  I felt fine Tuesday at Tae Kwon Do and then Kickboxing.  Afterward, though, the telltale dry throat started to kick in.  The next morning, it was a bit sore, but I felt well enough to go to class.  That was a mistake, I think.  I spent at least the last half of my communications class and the majority of my math class trying not to watch the clock.  I wanted to get out of there.  When I finally did escape from the school, I came home and crawled back into bed.  The sore throat had gotten worse and was now accompanied by a pounding headache and a low fever, which made for some rather interesting thought processes throughout the afternoon.  And no, I do not remember specific examples at this point in time.  I did not risk going to Tae Kwon Do and passing out in class.

I decided against attending school Thursday.  I had no homework due and was confident I would not miss much during the first week of classes.  I made sure to send out e-mails to all three of my instructors to inform them of my illness.  None questioned that, but I did explain that I doubted anyone wanted whatever crud I had come down with.  I felt somewhat better by Thursday night, but still not well enough to go back to Tae Kwon Do.

Friday was even better, but I could not get rid of the feeling of glass shards in my throat.  I did manage to go to Tae Kwon Do and help set up for the color belt graduation that would take place the following morning.  I also smacked my younger brother upside the head for getting me sick.

I am feeling much better now.  I still have a very slight dryness, but I can live with that.  Much better than the glass shards.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

