Idiot on the Road

I am not used to dealing with blatantly rude drivers.  Most of the time, the drivers I put up with are the inattentive or the ignorant.  They either do not know what they are doing or they do not realize their driving is pissing someone off.  Today, however, was a different story.

I encountered the guy as I drove home from class.  I was sitting at a red light when the guy in the lane next to me suddenly stretched his arm outside his window and flashed his middle finger for no apparent reason.  The light was still red.  We had been sitting there for at least 30 seconds.  No one was honking or causing any other irritation.  There was no reason for this guy's behavior.  Then, he suddenly lurched forward a couple feet until he was just a few inches off the rear bumper of the SUV in front of him.  I thought for sure he was going to hit the SUV, but he stopped just short.

Eventually, the light turned green and we were moving.  I hung back a little, because I could not predict what the guy would do next.  He did not disappoint.  He apparently got irritated with that SUV and swerved into my lane.  He did not quite cut me off, since there was plenty of room for him to switch lanes, but there was no signal.  I hung back further.  Several seconds later, he flashed his middle finger again.  Aside from there being a fair amount of traffic, there was still no apparent reason for his behavior.

He switched lanes again and I ended up passing him.  I kept an eye on him in fear that he would end up just a few inches off my bumper at the next light, but he ended up  turning at that light.  Not before flashing that finger at least one more time, though.  I shook my head and wondered if I would see his car on the news tonight in relation to a road rage incident.  I have enough things to worry about when I drive.  I should not have to worry about people like him.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

