New Puppies!

My Tae Kwon Do instructor has two Shih Tzus and they have one or two litters a year.  My mom has been on the fence about getting a couple puppies for the past year or so.  She broke down Saturday morning and decided to go with it.  So we have two black and white Shih Tsu puppies in our home.  They are adorable.  We have named them Boris and Natasha.  So far, the names have been met with much amusement.

The puppies are fairly well behaved.  They are not all that active yet.  I suspect they are still getting used to their new home.  They were considerably more active today than yesterday, which has been both amusing and frustrating.  Amusing because of their antics.  Frustrating because they are not house-broken and need to be watched, especially right after they have woken up from a nap.  Natasha is starting to figure out the little litter box with newspaper.  Boris, not so much.  We will get there, though.

They are used to just running around outside, but I am not thrilled with that idea.  We have a leash for them, which looks ridiculously huge on them at the moment.  They are starting to warm up to it.  I have spent the past couple days leading them back and forth across the deck and yard.  They like to sit and try to refuse to move, which does not really work because they each weigh only a couple pounds.  They are realizing that I am not putting up with that, though.  Once they get used to the leash, then I will feel much more comfortable with them outside playing.  Last thing I want is them running into the street.

We keep them in the bathroom at night.  One, most of our home is carpeted and they are not house-broken.  The bathroom is one of the few rooms that is not carpeted, so it is much easier to clean up if the puppies make a mess.  Two, there are no dangling cords.  Last night was very quiet.  I did not hear them at all.  I was quite impressed and pleased.  Tonight seems to be heading in that direction, too, but we still have several hours to go.  We make sure to spend as much time as we can with them, so they probably like the few hours to rest.

Our cats have reacted favorably.  Tuxedo and Stealth take them in stride.  Tux swiped at them a couple times today when they started playing with his tail.  No claws, though.  Cheddar stays away from them and otherwise ignores them.  Colby and Chantico have shown little interest in putting up with them and have spent the last couple days in my room, especially Chantico.  I am not thrilled with their behavior, but at least they are not aggressive.

We have one more day of this holiday weekend to get them used to how things are going to work out in the house.  Then, my parents will head back to work and I will be in class.  It will be interesting.  More to come, including a few pictures.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

