Yikes

I have been quite busy with school the past month or so, and this next week is really going to be fun.  It is the final week of Summer Quarter.  I have one final in math, one group presentation in communications, and a final paper in English.  All due by Thursday.  I do not like feeling this stress.

The group presentation is coming along slowly, but I think we will be ready by tomorrow.  We started with four members in the group.  One stopped coming to class.  No one has seen or heard from her in more than two weeks.  We were told to move forward without her.  Another group member lost a close friend, so she was gone for several days.  It is enough to make me really anxious about the presentation.  We have to be ready by tomorrow, even though we know we will not be presenting until at least Tuesday.

I really do not like my English teacher, but there is little I can do at this point, except finish that final paper and turn it in.  He is a cynic and gets on at least one soap box each class.  He yells at random times, which can be quite distracting when one is trying to write, and stares at the class as though he expects us to be on the same page as him.  It is a bit unnerving at times.  I do not know what to think about him, but I will be glad when the class is over.

Recently, I took a trip to Chicago for a national Tae Kwon Do competition.  I was not competing, but I did judge those who were.  I took the instructor course, which included the referee certification.  We were obligated to use the competition as the practical portion of the referee course.  Not everyone did, of course.  The two people I knew who went through the course with me did not.  I am not sure what one did, but the other was coaching a few of our fellow students during the competition.

There were good things.  I met a lot of great people and learned a lot.  I saw what other schools were teaching and gained some good experience.

There were bad things, too, though.  It was not a well planned competition.  We did not have enough food during the instructor course or during the first day of the competition.  I went without lunch during the instructor course.  The only reason I got lunch on the first day of the competition is because one of our student's parents did a mass food run.  Five competitors, five parents, two referees, and one coach.  That had to be a rather expensive food run, but they did not except any money in return.

Also, not every thing I learned was good.  I learned that some kids do not think things through when they compete.  One girl brought an axe kick down on her opponent's head and likely gave her a concussion.  When asked whether she intended to hit her on the forehead, the girl confirmed.  She was disqualified for injuring her opponent.  I also learned that some of the coaches are less mature than their students.  I had two coaches try to fight each other while I was refereeing one sparring match.  Not fun.  It was no surprise that I ended up warning both their students to stop pushing and grabbing each other.

For the most part, I think the good outweighed the bad.  The competition is in Portland, Oregon next year, and I intend to be there.  We will be prepared in case the competition is not, too.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

