Enjoying Summer

I have been catching up on sleep the last several days.  It has been quite nice.

I am scrambling to finish the holiday quilt cross-stitch project I am working on.  I want to finish it before I go on the cruise with my friends next week.  I have spent months working on this project and I want it finished so I can move on.  I admit, a few months is not the longest it has taken to finish a project.  There have been other projects that I have been working on for years and still have not finished.  Gr.  One day.

The final group presentation in my communications class went fairly well.  We got an overall score of 94.  I am not complaining.  There are things we could have done better, but considering how we did after one team member dropped off the face of the earth, I cannot justify any complaints.  The remaining three of us did very well.  And, I did figure out what happened with that one group member.  Google is an interesting thing when you have a name and decide to go hunting.  The classmate has a blog.  They got a new job that required them to drop out.  I hope that job is worth it.  I really do.  If it had been me, I would have made sure the job worked around my school schedule.  Oh well.  I estimate that I have an 'A-' at least based on scores I have gotten on the other assignments.

I finished the paper for English and turned it in.  I was so tired of that class that I really did not read through to see if the paper needed to be edited at some point.  I did not care.  The instructor got even more obnoxious the past couple days.  I simply turned in the final paper and hoped for the best.  He finally posted the grade of the paper yesterday.  I got a 'B' on the paper.  I admit, it was not my best work, but if I was not relying on the VA to pay for my classes, I probably would have dropped that class and found a different instructor.  I did not like him.  Not one bit.  It was a long two months.  Overall, I am guessing either a 'B+' or 'A-' in English.

I have a high 'A' in math.  I was scoring full points on everything until the second exam.  On that exam I made a really stupid error.  Gr.  I apparently did the same on the final, but I have no way of figuring out what.  No big deal.  Still high points on both, so I secured a strong 'A'.  I did have to joke with a couple friends before the final that I could flat out bomb the final and still pass the class.  Not that I would.  I like having a good GPA.

The actual grades get posted later this morning.  I am not so patiently waiting for them to appear on my transcript.  Yes, I know I have a good idea of what I am getting in all the classes.  However, there is still that lingering chance that I am wrong.  Good or bad, I like to see the actual transcript before I finally relax.

Tae Kwon Do and Kickboxing are going fairly well.  After I get back from my cruise, I plan to get together with my mom and another instructor and work out details for the referee class we are expected to teach in about a month.  We indicated to our head instructor that we would like an hour and a half dedicated to the class.  He agreed.  Everything else is up to us.  I have an idea of how I want to approach the class, but this cruise vacation is a bit of a distraction at the moment.  Once that is out of the way, I will be ready to prepare.

Fun times ahead.  More to come.

Read and post comments | Send to a friend

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

