30 Days of Truth: Day 8

Day 08: Someone who made your life hell, or treated you like shit.

Oh, there are a few people who could fit both categories.

The older of my two brothers (Martin), for example, put my family through hell for years.  This continued even after my parents kicked him out of the house.  Every time I came home on leave for the next couple years he would pull a stunt.  He got kicked out of the place he was renting.  He got his arm set on fire.  He landed himself in jail the weekend after Nathan graduated from high school and days before Nathan left for Navy boot camp.  He has gotten better, but only because the rest of the family wanted little to do with him while he was acting out, and he relies somewhat on my parents for money.  At one point, if a person walked into my parents’ house before I got home from school, the only rooms they would have access to were the living room, main bathroom, and Martin’s room.  All the other rooms were locked, because he would steal stuff or eat enormous amounts of food.  He eventually had his house key taken away, because he was causing so many problems in the few rooms he had access to.  We constantly had to watch him.

Then there were the kids that harassed me day in and day out at school.  I dreaded going to school at times, because I knew I would have to endure such harassment.  This occurred through a good portion of elementary school and into middle school.  It finally stopped during middle school, because my tormenters did not like finding themselves in front of the vice principal.  Nowadays, people irritate me at their own peril.  I do not tolerate that type of behavior anymore.

And yes, people in the military could make my life hell if they wanted to, and they could get away with it.  But that was the military.  One expects to be treated like dirt from time to time.

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

