30 Days of Truth: Day 9

Day 09: Someone you didn’t want to let go, but just drifted.

I lost contact with a lot of people while I was in the Air Force.  I have managed to establish contact with some of those people.  Others, though, have eluded me.  Of course, there are some people who I am not sure really want to talk to me again.  They appear to have moved on with their lives without a backward glance.  It is something I regret, but it happens.

I knew a girl from 1st grade all the way through high school.  We kept in touch, despite her moving to Texas after her 5th grade year.  I have not talked to her in a couple years now.  It used to be I would catch her online from time to time and we would chat about what we were up to.  Not anymore.

Some of my friends from high school have fallen away, too.  Some I do not talk to.  Others I only talk to around holidays or if I happen to run into them.  Then there are those who did something to irritate me while I was gone.  A couple friend who I thought knew my family well enough to know better decided to badmouth my mom.  I caught wind of it and was quite pissed off.  But I do not stay angry forever.  I would like to patch things up with some of those people, but they have ignored messages I have sent or have gone to great lengths to make sure I cannot get a hold of them.  It is frustrating, but life goes on.

Yes, there are friend that I have known in the Air Force that I would like to get back in touch with to.  I have succeeded partially in with these friends, but I am curious to see how some of my former colleagues from my days in England are doing.  Again, my efforts have produced mixed results.  I might know what they are doing these days, but I cannot get them to respond.

It goes to show that one really does not know who their friends truly are.  I have learned that.  Those who I have gotten back in touch with are considered some of the best friends I have.  Those who elude me, well, I guess they are not worth the effort used to maintain the friendship.  I saw a quote not too long ago that I need to keep in mind:  “Don’t worry about the people from your past.  There’s a reason they didn’t make it to your future.”

About emeree

I am an Air Force veteran. I served as a Security Forces troop for nearly seven years and reached the rank of Staff Sergeant before separating in 2008. My tours of duty were in England and Oklahoma. I live in the Seattle area, which is where I grew up. I used my GI Bill and earned a degree from the University of Washington. I currently work in downtown Seattle and experience all the adventure that comes with that.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

